America’s leadership in the world, through smart and effective investments in development and diplomacy, advances our interests at home and abroad.

Keeps Us Safe

Strengthens Our Economy

Saves Lives

Leading Voices

“Increasing our development resources is absolutely critical and money well spent to deal with the dangers and seize the opportunities.”

Colin Powell
Secretary of State (2001-2005)

“Greater engagement through diplomacy and development is not an option in today’s world; it is a necessity.”

Madeleine Albright
Secretary of State (1997-2001)

“If you don’t fund the State Department fully, then I need to buy more ammunition.”

James Mattis
Secretary of Defense (2017-2018)

“The investments we make today in the developing world will help create the jobs of tomorrow here in America.”

Bill Gates
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

“Economic development is a lot cheaper than sending soldiers.”

Robert Gates
Secretary of Defense (2006-2011)

“With our security and our economy tied to what happens overseas, we can’t afford to take chances.”

Tom Ridge
Secretary of Homeland Security (2003-2005) and Governor of Pennsylvania (1995-2001)

“International development is a vital investment in the free, prosperous, and peaceful international order that fundamentally serves our interests.”

Condoleezza Rice
Secretary of State (2005-2009)

“Inadequate resourcing of our civilian partners could, in fact, jeopardize accomplishment of the overall mission.”

David Patraeus
Combatant Commander USCENTCOM (2007-2008) and Director of the CIA (2011-2012)


Now more than ever, American leadership is critical to build a safer and more prosperous world. Choose your state below to hear more and get connected to the USGLC.

Hon. Mark S. Schweiker

Governor (2001-2003)

Hon. Patrick J. Murphy

U.S. Under Secretary of the Army (2016-2017) and U.S. House of Representatives (D-PA) (2007-2011)


Hon. Saxby Chambliss

U.S. Senate (2003-2015) and U.S. House of Representatives (1995-2003)

Hon. Sam Nunn

U.S. Senate (1972-1997)


Hon. Jim Hunt

Governor (1977-1985, 1993-2001)

Hon. Jim Martin

Governor (1985-1993)

North Carolina

Hon. Richard W. Riley

Governor (1979-1987) and U.S. Secretary of Education (1993-2001)

Hon. David H. Wilkins

U.S. Ambassador to Canada (2005-2008) and Speaker of the S.C. House of Representatives (1994-2005)

South Carolina

Hon. Josiah “Jo” Bonner, Jr.

U.S. House of Representatives (2003-2013)

Hon. Jim Folsom, Jr.

Governor (1993-1995) and Lt. Governor (1987-1993, 2007-2011)


Hon. Philip N. Bredesen Jr.

Governor (2003-2011)

Hon. William “Bill” H. Frist

U.S. Senate (1995-2007) and Majority Leader (2003-2007)


Hon. Bob Taft

Governor (1999-2007)

Hon. Lee Fisher

Lt. Governor (2007-2011)


Hon. Lee Hamilton

U.S. House of Representatives (1965-1999)


Hon. Tom Latham

U.S. House of Representatives (1995-2015)

Bob Myers

Chairman & CEO of Casey’s General Stores, Inc.

Hon. Tom Harkin

U.S. Senate (1985 - 2015)

Hon. Tom Vilsack

United States Secretary of Agriculture (2009–2017), Governor (1999–2007)


Hon. Norm Coleman

U.S. Senate (2003-2009) and USGLC Board Member

Beth Ford

President & CEO of Land O’Lakes, Inc. and USGLC Board Member


Hon. Earl Pomeroy

U.S. House of Representatives (1993-2011)

Hon. Ed Schafer

U.S. Department of Agriculture (2008-2009) and Governor (1992-2000)

North Dakota

Hon. Ben Nelson

U.S. Senate (2001-2013) and Governor (1991-1999)

Hon. Douglas Bereuter

U.S. House of Representatives (1979 – 2004)


Dan Glickman

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture (1995 – 2001); U.S. Representative (1977 – 1995)

Lynn Jenkins

U.S. Representative (2009 – 2019)


Kit Bond

U.S. Senate (1987-2011); Governor (1981-1985, 1973-1977)

Bob Holden

Governor (2001-2005)


Hon. Hank Brown

U.S. Senate (1991-1997)

Hon. Gary Hart

U.S. Senate (1974-1986)


Hon. Jim Matheson

U.S. House of Representatives (2001-2015)

Lew Cramer

President & CEO of Colliers International - Utah and former Assistant Secretary of Commerce for International Trade


Hon. Richard Bryan

U.S. Senate (1989-2001) and Governor (1983-1989)

Frank Fahrenkopf

Former President & CEO of the American Gaming Association, Co-Chairman of the Commission on Presidential Debates, and Chairman of the Republican National Committee (1983-1989)

Hon. Brian Sandoval

University of Nevada, Reno President and Governor (2011-2019)

Hon. Robert Miller


Hon. Gary Locke

U.S. Ambassador to China (2011-2014), U.S. Secretary of Commerce (2009-2011), and Governor (1997-2005)

Hon. Dan Evans

U.S. Senate (1983-1989) and Governor (1965-1977)


Rick Snyder

Governor of Michigan (2011-2019)

Hendrik “Hank” G. Meijer

Meijer Inc. Executive Chairman


Ander Crenshaw

U.S. House of Representatives (2001-2017)

Alex Sink

CFO of the State of Florida (2007-2011)


Brad Henry

Governor of Oklahoma (2003-2011)

Mary Fallin-Christensen

Governor of Oklahoma (2011-2019)


Hon. Michael Castle

Governor of Delaware (1985–1992) and U.S. House of Representatives (1993-2011)

Hon. Jack Markell

Governor of Delaware (2009-2017)